End the Frustration of Creating a New Post in Word 07 to WordPress

This may be old news to some of you, but I have spent way too much time editing images and formatting Word 07 docs when trying to convert a Word .doc into a post for WordPress and was beginning to feel totally inept…..there must be a better way…..

My frustration was centered around “creating a new blog post” when creating a new .doc. I could not get my WordPress blog registered with Microsoft and assumed that I could not figure it out so I put it out of mind and forgot about the possibility until today, when my frustration level blew over editing 10 images. I decided to try again, and this time read every word in the instructions and double check my entries and after only five attempts was successful. I didn’t have the correct URL in the Blog Post URL …. I needed to delete the extra http:// in the URL

The only thing I didn’t figure out how to do from MS Word was to add tags and categories which I went back and edited the post after it was published, still saved me hours reformatting the images.

So the process simplified:

  1. Open MS Word > New > New Blog Post

  2. If you haven’t registered the blog with Microsoft before the Register a Blog Account window opens. Click Register Now.

  3. A New Blog Account window opens and select WordPress from the drop down menu under Choose your blog provider.

  4. Select Next.
  5. The Picture Options window opens wanting to know where Word should upload your images. Fortunately, WordPress
    supports the upload of images so I left My blog provider

    as the default and then click OK.

  6. Then a MS Office Word window opens letting you know that it may be possible for other people to see the information including name and password. I am assuming that others will only see the ******* in the password box so I selected Yes.

  7. Then you get to write a post. Type in the new post’s title over the Enter Post Title Here

  8. When you are done writing the body of the post you just select Publish in the ribbon.

About digitaltext

Digital Text Coordinator at Landmark College in Putney, VT; a 2 year college for students who learn differently.
This entry was posted in Faculty Resources, Tutorials, Web 2.0 Tools and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

