List of Publisher Digital Requests Links

I had sent out an email plea for help in requesting digital copies from publishers in a timely fashion to Martie Buck from Lewis and Clark Community College.  About a year and a half ago, I had given up on that method of obtaining digitally formatted textbooks since I did not have a good response time and more often than not no response at all.  Since I need to convert all digital formats into Kurzweil 3000 format (.kes), it was faster to scan all of the required texts than to wait for a reply which I would need to convert into .kes. Martie replied the same day with: 

 

Whenever I need a textbook in digital format, I go to the Association of American Publishers website, and from there I choose the alphabetical letter of the specific publishing company I’m ordering from.  That choice will narrow down the other choices of publishers, and eventually I end up on the publisher’s website with a further link connecting me to a “permissions form” for students with disabilities.  I fill out the form on the website, submit it electronically, and then get an immediate confirmation via Email that the form was received.  Sometimes I’ve had E-text sent to me via Email in Word or PDF format the very day I submitted my request, and then other times it has taken a week or two.  If I request any E-text in August, I usually get a notification saying how busy the company is and that it may take up to 4 – 6 weeks to receive the E-text.  However, it has never taken longer than one month, and I’m continually amazed at how quick these publishers are in responding to my requests!”

 

 

About digitaltext

Digital Text Coordinator at Landmark College in Putney, VT; a 2 year college for students who learn differently.
This entry was posted in Assistive Technology, Electronic Texts, Publisher Requests and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to List of Publisher Digital Requests Links

  1. Pingback: Fashion News » Blog Archive » List of Publisher Digital Requests Links

Leave a Reply

